You are here
Home > Cricket > Cricket World Cup Winners

Cricket World Cup Winners

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners

Cricket World Cup held at four-year intervals and one of the most-watched international cricket events in the world. Eleven ICC Cricket World Cups played so far and five different teams have won the tournament. Australia is the most successful team in the world cup who won the tournament five times and runner-up two times.

West Indies won the first two tournaments, and India has also won it two times1983 and 2011. Pakistan and Sri Lanka both have won one tournament each. Sri Lanka (1996) and India (2011) are the only team’s win when they co-hosted the tournament.

Australia has played the most finals(7 out of 11). England is the team to reach the final but not win the World Cup tournament, ending as runner-up in all three world cup finals. India is the only country who hosted a World Cup final more than one venues, Eden Gardens, Kolkata, in 1987 and Wankhede Stadium Mumbai in 2011

List of World Cup Winners

The following is a list of the winning country and runner-up

Year Winner Runner-Up
2015 Australia Cricket Australia New Zealand Cricket New Zealand
2011 Indian Cricket India Sri Lanka Cricket Sri Lanka
2007 Australia Cricket Australia Sri Lanka Cricket Sri Lanka
2003 Australia Cricket Australia Indian Cricket India
1999 Australia Cricket Australia Pakistan Cricket Pakistan
1996 Sri Lanka Cricket Sri Lanka Australia Cricket Australia
1992 Pakistan Cricket Pakistan England Cricket England
1987 Australia Cricket Australia England Cricket England
1983 Indian Cricket India West Indies Cricket West Indies
1979 West Indies Cricket West Indies England Cricket England
1975 West Indies Cricket West Indies Australia Cricket Australia
Devendra is a passionate sports person as well as a blogger that loves to write the sports blog, especially about cricket.

2 thoughts on “Cricket World Cup Winners

  1. A very informative article about worldcup winners list. I,m a big fan of cricket and looking forward for good cricket facts, thanks for sharing this information. Keep up the good content. 🙂

Leave a Reply