You are here
Home > Cricket > T20 Cricket Origin in International Cricket

T20 Cricket Origin in International Cricket

know about t20 cricket origin

T20 Cricket Origin

Wales Cricket Board (ECB) and England had discussed for the game’s shortened format on a professional level in 1998 and 2001. After the end of Benson & Hedges Cup in 2002, Wales Cricket Board required another competition that was just for a day to take its place.

It was a plan to deliver fast-paced, exciting cricket accessible to thousands of fans who were put off by the longer versions of the game. The marketing manager of the Wales Cricket Board, recommend a 20 over per innings game to county chairmen in 2001 and they voted 11–7 in favor of adopting the new format.

The cricketing authorities had to find different ways to boost cricket and make it popular again among the youngsters. The first official Twent20 matches were played on 13 June 2003 between the English counties in the Twenty20 Cup.

The first season of Twenty20 in England was a massive success, with the Surrey Lions defeating the Warwickshire Bears by 9 wickets in the final. The first Twenty20 match played at Lord’s, on 15 July 2004 between Middlesex and Surrey, attracted a crowd of 27,509, the highest attendance for any county cricket game at the ground.

History of Twenty 20 Cricket

The 1st Twenty20 international match in England was played between England and Australia at the Rose Bowl in Hampshire on 13 June 2005. In which England won by a 100 runs, it’s a record victory which lasted until 2007.

Australia and South Africa met in the 1st international Twenty20 game in Australia On 9 January 2006. The international match drew a crowd of 38,894 people at The Gabba. Australia won the match and the man of the match Damien Martyn scoring 96 runs.

On 16 February 2006 New Zealand defeated West Indies in a tie-breaking bowl-out 3–0; 126 runs have scored a piece in the game proper. The last Twenty20 international match played by Chris Cairns – New Zealand Cricket handed out life-size cardboard masks of his face when he entered in the ground


Every 2year an ICC World Twenty20 tournament is to take place, The event of an ICC Cricket World Cup is scheduled in the same year, in which case it will be held the year before.

The first T20 tournament was in 2007 in South Africa where India defeated Pakistan in the final and won the twenty20 trophy.

Two teams who had played in the first tournament, selected through the ICC World Cricket League Division One 2007, a 50-50 over the competition.

The second tournament was won by Pakistan who beat Sri Lanka by 8 wickets at the finals in England on 21 June 2009. ICC World T20 international tournament held in May 2010 in West Indies, wherever England defeated Australia by seven wickets at the final match.

ICC World Twenty20 was won by the West-Indies by defeating Sri Lanka at the finals in 2012.

It was the first time in the history of cricket that an international Twenty20 World Cup tournament was held in an Asian country. Sri Lanka won the ICC World Twenty20, defeating India in the finals in 2014, where the tournament was held in Bangladesh.

The 2016 West Indies won the ICC World Twenty20, defeating England in the final in 2016, where the tournament was held in India.

Major Twenty20 Domestic Leagues:

  • BigBash League (Australia)
  • Bangladesh Premier League(Bangladesh)
  • NatWest T20 Blast(England)
  • Indian Premier League(India)
  • SuperSmash T20 (NZ)
  • Pakistan Super League
  • Global T20 League (SA)
  • Caribbean Premier League (WI)
  • Women’s BigBash League (AUS)
  • Women’s Cricket Super League (ENG)
Please follow and like us:
Devendra is a passionate sports person as well as a blogger that loves to write the sports blog, especially about cricket.

Like Our Blogs? Share with your friends and family